h1

Whiskey. Tango. Foxtrot.

July 11, 2008

I was going to post at some point about how lately I’ve been finding all kinds of people on Facebook–people I haven’t seen since grade school, people I’m glad to have found, people I wish I hadn’t found, etc–but just now, I got the following message from a writer from a well-known glossy weekly magazine.  I’m redacting the identifying info, but this is otherwise intact:

Hi Wroth,
We are on continuing coverage of the Alex Rodriguez/Cynthia Rodrigurz divorce and would love comment from you, on of Cynthia’s friends. The NY press/Alex’s side is putting out not the most flattering portrait of Cynthia and we would love to get her side: how great a mother she is, how much she loved her husband, gave it her all, what kind of friend she is, etc. Would love your help!  We are on deadline so I would need this, if possible, today (Friday).
Thank you so much for your time,
Writey McWritesalot
Well-known Glossy Weekly Magazine

I…don’t know what to make of it.  Is it spam?  A joke?  There are quite a few typos… I responded w/ a terse “sorry, wrong number” message, and now I’m wondering if I’ve got a doppleganger out there.  A tiny part of me wishes I had responded with a long, glowing report, just to see what would happen, but I do NOT want to be dragged into a media circus for the sake of a larf. 

Also, “continuing coverage of the Alex Rodriguez/Cynthia Rodrigurz divorce”?  Please people, our president just made a joke at the G8 about the US being the world’s largest polluter, and you’re concerned with demi-celebrity divorces?  Jebus Crust.

Leave a Reply

