h1

Avoiding the Issue

August 25, 2008

I have a friend who just had her first child.  I sent her a brief note of congratulations and good wishes, and I’ve checked the blog they’ve set up to share stories and pictures with far-flung family and friends.

I am honestly happy for them and glad that they are doing well, but I’m also glad that I’m not expected to drop by and coo over the new arrival, because the baby?  Is ugly.  I mean, really homely.  Not jolie-laide, not funny-lookin’, just shockingly un-cute.

It took me a while to figure it out, but it looks like a Podling, from The Dark Crystal.  Kinda like this:

I showed RB the little one’s pictures, and he said:  “Wow, it’s a potato with hair.”  We are hopeful that this is just a phase.

One comment

  1. It’s a little acknowledged fact: eight out of ten newborns are shockingly atrocious. I’ve already had my good-looking one, the second was a mess, and the statistical outlook for #3 doesn’t look great. Although the C-section helps a bit with the face-and-conehead squishiness.



Leave a Reply

