h1

Placeholder

September 10, 2008

The last two days have been a whirlwind of errands, paperwork, and back-to-school hustlin’. 

The good news is that my new colleagues seem very competent and interesting, I’ve gotten a lot of niggling little stuff done, and I’m starting to feel the energy charge I always get in the fall.  The bad news is that I can see that I’ve already got more-than-enough on my plate, there are a zillion things more things demanding my attention (including grant paperwork to follow up on, my dossier to assemble, jobs to look for, and–oh, yeah–my dissertation), and I’m going to need every last bit of that energy charge.  And a lot of caffeine, I suspect.

I’m a little overwhelmed by it all, and I just dropped nearly $600 on airfare for a 2.5-day trip to small-town Canada, so this is just a brief “howdy” to tide me (you?) over until I latch onto something more substantially bloggable.  That isn’t Sarah Palin.  Because I just don’t want to talk about her.  Because she’s a distraction and has served primarily to highlight the venality of the Republican Party.  Because they are cynical, opportunist assholes.  Because…

Yeah, I can’t.  I need a substantially bloggable topic that doesn’t make the veins in my forehead visibly throb.  But, if you wanna go there, go here.  It helped lower my blood pressure just a bit.

Leave a Reply

