h1

Change of Venue

October 28, 2008

I think I need one.

When I’m elsewhere–at my job, on the train, doing laundry–I get all kinds of good ideas and think of all kinds of do-able, practical stuff about my dissertation (or whatever other academic work I’ve got going on).  I always have pen and paper handy, and I take notes and make lists, and I feel really energized and positive about what I’ll accomplish, both in the long term and the short term.

The second I get to my desk, all that good juju just slips away.  I start getting nervous about my work, I procrastinate on all but the easiest, quickest tasks, and I second-guess whatever strategies or approaches I’ve come up with.  There’s a lot of anxiety in this little nook of my apartment.  Maybe it’s bad fung shui–the office is close to the bathroom, so all my good ideas get flushed away?  I don’t know.  But I’m thinking that since I’m making this major shift in my structure, maybe I need a major shift in my environment, too.

Tomorrow, I’m going to take my laptop over to some coffee shop in the area and see what, if anything, I can produce in an hour away from my desk.  Wish me luck.

One comment

  1. Definitely your Feng Shui.



Leave a Reply

