h1

Turkeys: no. Dogs: someday. Cats: always.

November 27, 2008

I don’t know why I bother watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade.  It’s basically three hours of cornily-phrased advertisements for lowest-common-denominator entertainments.  And I say that as a lover/scholar of popular culture. 

What I do love watching is the National Dog Show.    I luuuuuuuuuuurrrrv dogs, and wish I had a yard and the resources to have a pack of them.  Fortunately, I live in New York, which is a very doggy city, and I have friends with great dogs that I occasionally get to hang out with.

RB wants a dachshund;  I want a big monster dog, like a Bernese Mountain Dog, or an American Staffordshire Terrier, or a Boxer.  We will probably end up, at some point, with a sweet-faced shelter mutt, which is even better.  Aaaand that’s why I have a problem with the National Dog Show:  its insane obsession with blood lines, phenotypic purity, and canine eugenics.  That’s not what dogs are for.  Dogs are for drooling, and running, and chasing things, and snuggling, and being adorable. 

When I was a kid, my family always had pure-bred Siamese cats, although we weren’t breeders or showers.  Although I love Siamese (and puh-lease, anyone saying that Siamese are “mean” or “standoffish” are straight-up ignorant), I love my rescued street cats just as much.  Cats are for pretending to be dignified while really being goofballs, and stealing food, and climbing, and snuggling, and being adorable.  To wit: 

i can has skritches?

That big white blobby thing is me.  RB took this picture when I was sick in bed a month or more back. 

While I’m not terribly good with people in general, and pretty much no good at all with children, pets bring out my best.  I am sillier, gentler, and far more patient when dealing with animals.  I can tolerate their noise  mess, and bad behavior far better than that of humans, and I enjoy providing them with everything they need.  Old Cat slept with me last night, Little Cat just ate a significant portion of my lunch, and Orange Cat is in my lap right now.  On this very a-typical Thanksgiving, I am most thankful for my dear fur-babies.

Leave a Reply

