h1

Back to Normal. But not.

December 2, 2008

Robot Boy is home again, after a five-plus day trip.  It was good for him to go, although he’s struggling a lot with seeing his grandparents’ decline.  Even though there’s nothing he can do to slow it, I think he feels guilty that he’s so far away. 

 

We had a little time last night to catch up about it, but now it’s back to the grind.  With some extra Christmas stress thrown on top.  I have done exactly ZERO shopping, we haven’t decorated, or even brought out the holiday music.  And I kinda don’t care, honestly.  I didn’t miss Thanksgiving one whit, and I’m thinking maybe I could forgo Christmas just as easily.

 

This might mean I’m depressed.

 

Which I might be.  I didn’t “finish” my chapter on time.  I’m still working on it, and I don’t think I could hate this process–and maybe myself–more than I do right now.  And yet, to quote the Thane:  “I am in blood stepped in so far that should I wade no more, returning were as tedious as go o’er.” 

 

I’ve already killed Duncan and had Banquo knocked off, right?  Now just all-out war and then a brutal one-on-one battle with Macduff (my committee, I guess).  That I know how this play ends is not doing anything for my mood.

 

That’s Henry Irving, seeing the Ghost of Christmas Future, I think.  Or Banquo.  Same difference.

One comment

  1. time for raspberry sorbet.

    you can do it!



Leave a Reply

