h1

Quandry.

January 31, 2009

So, The Pursuit of Harpyness is up, and is drawing quite a bit of attention; it’s gotten more hits/comments/kerfuffle in less than 2 days than anything else I’ve ever written, ever, I imagine.  (Not that my stuff is specifically what’s driving traffic, but you get the point.)

The good news is that it has me writing, however unsatisfactory that writing may be to me.  Some is better than none, right?

The bad news is that it is taking time from my writing here (which might be just as well, as this has–particularly recently–been mostly whining), as more importantly, from whatever mental/emotional energy I might turn towards writing the diss.

Which, if I’m going to pick up again (still TBD), I’ve realized I’ll have to abandon the mess that is Zombie Chapter 4 and start afresh with New Chapter 2:  on “history” and nostalgia.  Which means I will have spent months with pretty much nothing to show (to my committee or myself) for it.  No completion, no satis-fak-shon.  And I need some goddamn satis-fak-shon. 

So, what to do?  Thoughts?

One comment

  1. All writing is fraking great writing, IMHO. Harpyness is fabulous and if it fuels your fire I hope we keep getting to read you there, as well as here. Maybe Harpyness can be your chocolate cookie: the blogging you get to do after you “write first”?

    As for satis-fak-shon and wasted months — two things:

    1) I usually find out much later that my wasted time was serving some vital function (though hugely frustrating in the moment). I vote for starting chap 2; maybe you will crack the code of 4 in the process of 2 or 3.

    2) about 10 days ago, I met a Ph.D. candidate who is just beginning his dissertation…for the second time. He told me that he wrote four chapters, switched advisors, and abandoned that dissertation for a new topic. I remember feeling somewhat shocked by his centeredness and calm as he relayed this news; but I guess he feels better because things have finally begun to fall into place. I thought I would share this story not because I think you need a new topic (you know very well what I think about your topic), but rather because it was a good reminder for me that it could be a whole lot worse!



Leave a Reply

